The Rock County Historical Society offers unique spaces and historical settings for a wide variety of special events from small private gatherings and meetings to weddings and large corporate events. Events and meetings may be held in the Lincoln Tallman Museum, RCHS Legacies Museum & Visitors Center, Tallman Carriage House, Wilson King Stonehouse, and on the Tallman porches and lawns.

The Rock County Historical Society is a resource for historical research, thought-provoking programming, and one-of-a-kind historic sites. At its center is the Lincoln-Tallman Museum, an Italianate-style mansion that was constructed in 1857 and occupied by William Morrison Tallman, a lawyer and abolitionist. Abraham Lincoln visited in October of 1859 prior to his election in 1860. The Traditional Tour narrative focuses on how a prosperous Victorian family would have lived, weaving in stories about the Tallman family. In November and December, come for the Holiday Tree Show with the house decked out in its holiday finery.

The RCHS Legacies Museum & Visitor's Center, housed in the 1912 Prairie-style residence of Stanley Dexter Tallman, serves as the Lincoln-Tallman Museum's visitor and ticketing center and houses the administrative offices of the Rock County Historical Society. It offers exhibit galleries that feature Pauline Pottery and Pickard China, as well as rotating exhibits celebrating the history and heritage of Rock County. The Parker Pen exhibit features some of the most popular Parker pens in history from a world-renowned company that was based in Janesville. The Rock County Legacies exhibit looks back at decades of personal history showcasing the tenacity of the people who worked in the Janesville General Motors Assembly Plant at the very beginning, through twentieth century cultural and technological changes, and the industry crisis that brought an end to a way of life.

The beautifully restored Tallman Carriage House provides ample space for meetings and parties, and the newly restored Wilson King Stonehouse includes an event space and catering kitchen. Originally a 1842 Greek-Revival residence, one of Janesville's first, the Wilson King Stonehouse was relocated to campus in 1964.

  • Free Parking
  • Things for Kids
  • Things for Teens

Address: 426 N Jackson St - Janesville - WI, 53548
Phone: (608) 756-4509
Fax:  (608) 741-9596